You are here

Brunch with Books: Dollbaby

Brunch with Books

Come join us and bring along your book of the month, your opinions and your appetite to engage in a relaxing and lively book discussion with fellow bibliophiles. Each meeting ends with a tasty brunch to compliment the theme of the book!

Join us on Saturday, August 24th at 10:30 AM for a discussion of this month's book club selection, Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal. The book will be available in regular print, large print, and audiobook for check-out at the front desk. Stop in and pick up your copy, and join us for August's book club. Please call if you have any questions. We look forward to seeing you there!

Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal

A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets

 

When Ibby Bell’s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father’s urn for good measure. Fannie’s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie’s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

 

For Fannie’s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby’s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby’s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

 

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

 

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.